Matzo’s Birthday Brunch Spectacular

by

Rice: A few Sundays ago, Matzo celebrated her 28th birthday in brunchtacular style. A potluck-style brunch, guests brought their dishes to share. I brought a vegetarian quiche and some biscuits and gravy, the remnants of which you can see in the next picture.

Hunger aftermath!

The brunch spread: Hunger aftermath!

Crunchy apples for all!


Some guests brought in some delicious store-bought goodies, such as these pastries from Au Bon Pain:

And this spectacular kringle from Oh Danish Bakery:

Chocolate and raspberry kringle straight from Wisconsin!

Chocolate and raspberry kringle straight from Wisconsin!

Vegetarian quiche

Vegetarian quiche

Hot piping farmers casserole

Hot piping farmer's casserole

Matzo made this scrumptious Swedish Coffee Bread

Matzo: And now for something totally different: Our first EVER guest contributor! Kraut, as in sauer, whipped up some tasty potatoes. The picture above was all that was left by the time Rice got around to taking the photo (the other pics were taken at the same time, to give you an indication of how fast Kraut’s taters went).

Kraut: Greetings, Matzo and Rice readers! I’ve been asked to contribute a guest post to talk about a breakfast potato dish I brought to Matzo’s breakfast brunch. My mom often makes cheesy potatoes around the holidays, but I thought I’d try something a little bit different for this get-together. This time, I was inspired by some potatoes with onions and peppers that I recently ate at a breakfast buffet in Costa Rica. The hotel buffet had them next to the Gallo Pinto (Rice and Beans) and the omelet station. On a different day, the hotel we stayed in also had a dish made the same way, but replaced the potatoes with yucca. This dish was actually something that I threw together without a specific recipe, so I thought I’d type up basically what I did to make it.

Breakfast Potatoes

  • 2-3 lbs. sliced Potatoes (I think I used Yukon Gold?)
  • 1 red and 1 yellow bell pepper, sliced
  • 1 medium onion, sliced
  • Seasoned salt (contained a mix of paprika, chili powder, garlic, etc.)
  • Parsley
  • Savory
  • Black pepper
  • Canola oil

I first put the potatoes in a steamer on the stovetop until they were a bit tender, which took about 20-25 minutes. Then, I heated up enough canola oil to cover the bottom of an electric skillet to between 400 and 425 degrees. I tossed the steamed potatoes, bell peppers, onion, and spices together in the skillet.

Tags: , ,

Leave a comment