Cheddar and Chive Scones

by
Image

These reminded me of the cheddar bay scones at Red Lobster, but home made and a lot less fattening and greasy.

I was on a scone making tear last night. I started out thinking only in terms of sweet–I have a go-to recipe on Epicurious.com that is so easy to customize. This night I decided to make raisin and lemon scones and lavender and lemon scones. This was mostly because this was what was available in my pantry. But spring has arrived here in Baltimore, and I some of my herbs from last season have made a comeback. The one that has thrived the best so far were my chives, and so looking into my fridge, I got an idea–how about some savory scones? Get all the ingredients out and just knock three types out while the oven is literally hot?

I found a recipe on Epicurious for them–but I didn’t have all the right ingredients. I figured I could improvise and then hope for the best. What turned out was pretty awesome, if I shall say so myself. Below are my alterations to this recipe that came up with these bad boys.

Ingredients

  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • 1/2 cup cold butter
  • 1/3 cup finely chopped fresh chives
  • 5 oz extra-sharp Cheddar, coarsely grated (1 1/2 cups)
  • 1 cup buttermilk

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 400°F.
  2. Whisk together flour, baking powder, sugar, and salt.
  3. Add butter until crumbly.
  4. Add chives and Cheddar, tossing to combine.
  5. Stir in buttermilk to combine into a soft, sticky dough.
  6. Turn dough out onto a lightly floured surface and knead 8 to 10 times with floured hands.
  7. Pat into 3-inch rounds and top with extra shredded cheddar. Place on a large, ungreased baking sheet (or sheet lined with parchment paper).
  8. Bake in the middle of oven until golden brown, about 20 minutes. Cool on a rack.

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a comment