Spiced Chickpeas

by

Chick peas always make me think of the story, “The Clever Bride,” from George Shannon’s Stories to Solve. The story made them sound so delicious, and every time I went to a salad bar I would spoon a few onto my plate and remember.

I haven’t cooked with them much, though.  Until now. A can sat in my cupboard for a good year before I unearthed it. I think there had originally been the intention of making into hummus, but since my tahini disappeared the can just sat around gathering dust.

Spiced chick peas make a quick and easy snack or side dish

But while looking for a recipe for curried chicken salad, I found a real gem of a recipe for chick peas, and the can found its way toward sunlight.

From a recipe from Epicurious:

Spiced Chickpeas

Ingredients

  • 1 tablespoon vegetable oil
  • 1 (19-ounce) can chickpeas, rinsed, drained, and patted dry (2 cups)
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon turmeric
  • 1/4 teaspoon cayenne
  • salt and pepper to taste
Directions

  1. Heat oil in cleaned skillet over medium-high heat and cook chickpeas, stirring, 1 minute.
  2. Add cumin, turmeric, cayenne, and  salt and pepper to taste.
  3. Cook, stirring to coat, until skillet is dry, about 2 minutes. Cool to room temperature and serve.
Tags: , ,

One Response to “Spiced Chickpeas”

  1. Lynn Weber Says:

    Yeah, I definitely got this idea from your blog. 🙂

Leave a Reply

