Lemon Lavender Poundcake

by

If you know me you know that I’m obsessed with lavender. I love the flowers, the scent, I even love it in my food. So when given the opportunity I try every recipe I can that says, “add culinary lavender.” For those of you think lavender makes everything taste like soap? Well, I say this to you: Haters to the left!

Go overboard and serve this with lemonade infused with lavender syrup.

For this recipe though, you can skip the lavender if you so choose, but a hint of it really gives the lemon poundcake an extra something. It’s lemon and dense and moist and sweet, a nice summer treat to be served with coffee or tea, or a big cold glass of lemonade.

This recipe calls of Meyer lemons, which are sweeter than regular lemons, but if you can’t find them or they’re out of season, regular lemons and lemon juice work just as well, and just give it a bit more tartness if that’s your taste to begin.

Lemon Lavender Poundcake

Ingredients

Cake:

  • 3 tablespoons milk
  • 3 large eggs, room temperature
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour, sifted
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon grated Meyer lemon zest
  • 2 tablespoons fresh squeezed Meyer lemon juice
  • 13 tablespoons unsalted butter, must be softened
  • 2 tablespoons poppy seeds (optional)
  • 3 tablespoons dried lavender (optional)

Lemon Syrup:

  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/4 cup freshly squeezed Meyer lemon juice

Lemon Glaze:

  • 1/2 cup powdered sugar
  • 1 tablespoon Meyer lemon juice
  • 1 teaspoon lemon zest
  • sliced almonds, optional

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F. Prepare a 9×13 loaf pan by oiling and flouring it. You can also use foil or parchment paper to line the pan.
  2. In a medium bowl lightly combine the milk, eggs, and vanilla.
  3. In a large mixing bowl combine the dry ingredients, including the lemon zest, lavender, and poppy seeds. Blend on low speed for 30 seconds. Add the butter and the egg mixture in two batches. Mix on low speed until the dry ingredients are moistened. Add in lemon juice. Increase to medium speed to aerate the batter for 1 minute.
  4. Pour batter into loaf pan and bake for 55 to 65 or until the center comes out clean.
  5. 5. While the cake is baking, shortly before it is done, prepare the lemon syrup—In a small saucepan stir, over medium heat, the sugar and lemon juice until it is dissolved. When the cake comes out, coat the top of the loaf with the syrup, poking toothpick-sized holes into the loaf for the cake to better absorb the syrup. When the loaf is cooled, turn it over and glazed the rest of the cake with the remaining syrup.
  6. To prepare the glaze, in a medium sized bowl, mix the lemon juice and zest into the powdered sugar. Mix with a whisk until the glaze is no longer lumpy. Pour the finished glaze over the top of the pound cake loaf. Top with sliced almonds, if so desired.
Tags: , , , ,

7 Responses to “Lemon Lavender Poundcake”

  1. Ariel Says:

    Aren’t meyer lemons the absolute best! I think the addition of lavender sounds lovely as well. I made some wonderful lemon bars with meyer lemons. A lavendar infused crust might be excellent with the lemon curd filling! http://thisfoodismyjam.blogspot.com/search/label/lemon

    • Rice Says:

      I don’t know where I was before I knew about them! It’s too bad that they’re hard to find during most of the year. When I can get them though, I have to snatch them up!

      I’ll have to check out your recipe–I’ve made something similar before–lemon bars with a rosemary and lavender shortbread crust. Mmm.

  2. iEatDC Says:

    That is beautiful!

  3. Michelle Says:

    Looks delicious! I love lavender and lemons too!

  4. Emily Says:

    THIS LOOKS AMAZING!!!! I can’t wait to make!!!

    • Rice Says:

      I hope you enjoy the recipe! Also, I’ve checked out your blog–love the idea of a blog that talks about eating in a more humane way. I try to get all my dairy and eggs from the farmers’ market from vendors who let their animals range or be cage-free, and I think the more people know about it and practice it, the better it will be for everyone!

Leave a Reply

