Strawberry Rhubarb Pie

by

Oh, hi! I made pie! And crust. And it was all quite easy, really!

Farmer's market fresh strawberries and rhubarb go into this homemade pie.

Strawberries are still wonderfully in season so my household has been getting two ripe quarts a week. I personally hate the idea of eating fresh fruit in any other way other than fresh and unadulterated, but sometimes ripe means really ripe, and that’s what happened with the strawberries the week I made this pie.

Just prior to reaching the beginnings of critical mass, aka going bad, I figured it was a good enough time as any to make a pie. Really, though, the rhubarb had been sitting around in wait for just such an occurrence, and so who was I to deny what had been preordained?

Farmer's market fresh rhubarb sliced up and ready for pie.

That same day, though, I got it into my head that maybe I should make some snickerdoodles instead (or snickerdoodle cupcakes, which I had made last year), so I conducted a scientific poll (I posted “strawberry rhubarb pie or snickerdoodles?” on Facebook) to determine which way to go. Well, my friend Kasey came up with a genius idea: Snickerdoodled strawberry rhubarb pie.

And thus it was.

Loads of berry goodness.

But making a separate batch of snickerdoodles to top the pie seemed kind of excessive (and gluttonous), so what I ended up doing was adding creme of tartar to the top crust portion of the pie and then sprinkling on loads of cinnamon and sugar.

The crust recipe I used has no sugar, so the topping wasn’t at all overkill. In fact, my sugar tooth probably would have not minded a bit (a lot) more. But I have a freakish sweet tooth, and in theory, the crust serves as a good counterpoint to the already sweet pie filling.

Berries and rhubarb tossed in sugar.

Originally, I was going to be lazy and just buy a premade pie crust, but since it’s not in my normal rotation of grocery items I just plum forgot. Not willing to go out again to just buy crust I fell back on a really easy and reliable recipe for crust, which also works great as a crust for savory pies (chicken pot pie and tomato and corn pie in particular, since those are the only savory pies I’ve made so far).

I cannot emphasize how much I appreciate ease and simplicity in cooking, and this pie crust is the epitome of ease and simplicity. In the past I’ve been kind of daunted by the idea of pie crust, partly because I don’t like the smell or taste of shortening very much, nor do I like using it in general, so this recipe, with its use of Canola oil instead? It’s top of the pops, y’all. And the fact that it only requires three ingredients, ingredients you likely have in your kitchen at all times? Its like the cherry on top of the top of the pops.

Pie Crust

Ingredients

  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup canola oil
  • 1/3 cup of ice water

Directions

  1. Mix together flour, oil, and ice water.
  2. Divide dough in half. Roll each piece between two pieces of plastic wrap.

Now this? This is “easy as pie.”

Poured into crust and ready to bake.

Now that we’re done with the crust (and if you want to buy your crust, my lips are sealed), on to the pie!

Credit where it’s due:  Strawberry rhubarb pie recipe from Allrecipes.com.

Strawberry Rhubarb Pie

Ingredients

  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 pound fresh rhubarb, chopped
  • 2 pints fresh strawberries
  • 1 recipe pastry for a 9 inch double crust pie
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 2 tablespoons white sugar
  • 1 tablespoon cinnamon

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F (200 degrees C).
  2. In a large bowl, mix flour and sugar. Add strawberries and chopped rhubarb. Toss with sugar and flour and let stand for 30 minutes.
  3. Pour filling into pie crust. Dot top with butter, and cover with top crust. Seal edges of top and bottom crust with water.
  4. Apply yolk to top of pie, using a pastry brush. Sprinkle with sugar and cinnamon. Depending on your crust, make sure to leave slits where steam can escape. If you don’t, the filling will be too runny. Lattice tops work well, but you can cut slits in a top crust with a knife, or, like I did, cut out circles and loosely layer them on top so the pieces touch.
  5. Bake at 400 degrees F (200 degrees C), for 35 to 40 minutes, or until bubbly and brown. Cool on rack.
Tags: , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Strawberry Rhubarb Pie”

  1. Dina Says:

    looks great. one of my favorite pies!

  2. Ninfa Marsell Says:

    I really enjoy your website and i respect your work. I’ll be a frequent visitor. How can I subscribe to RSS?

  3. Recipe Master List « matzo&rice Says:

    […] strawberry rhubarb pie […]

  4. Abbs Says:

    Meandering through Photograzing.seriouseats for some strawberry-rhubarb pie ideas when I stumbled across yours. I couldn’t help myself from commenting because I use pretty much the same crust recipe as yours and it is my favorite! (Under-rated by most… but I love it.) My grandma taught it to me years ago and it has been my go-to crust recipe ever since. So simple and flakey, too. 🙂 Just thought I’d share. 😛 Happy baking.

Leave a Reply

