Chipotle Lime Cranberries

by

I had to use or lose some airline miles, so I got a subscription to Bon Appetit. My thought is, if I can get one really good recipe out of a magazine, the cover price (or price for the subscription) is worth it. I found gold, yet again, with their November 2009 recipe for Chipotle Cranberry Sauce.

I altered it a bit, but the idea is still the same. The chipotles make the sauce very smoky with a hint of heat. I substituted limes for lemons (I like them better), canned chipotles instead of dried (I’m lazy), and added a bit more spice and spices.

Cranberries bubbling away!

Ingredients

  • 2-3 chipotle chilies from a can (if you use dried, rehydrate them with boiling water)
  • 1 12-ounce package fresh or frozen cranberries
  • 1  to 1 1/3 cups sugar (The tang of the lime stands out more with less here)
  • 3 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
  • 2 small garlic cloves or a very large one, chopped
  • 1/4 teaspoon (heaping) ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon (heaping) ground cumin

Dump the chilis, cranberries, sugar, and lime juice in a sauce pan over medium heat. Stir until the sugar melts.

The sugar is starting to dissolve!

Keep on going until the berries begin to pop. Depending on your stove, this will take 5-10 minutes.

You cam tell the cranberries are popping from the sound and the brilliant red juice.

Once they start to pop, add the rest of the ingredients. Keep cooking until it gets that nice thick cranberry sauce texture, probably another 5-8 minutes. When it’s cool, take out the chipoltes, chop them up, and return them to the sauce.

The cranberries are popped and the sauce is darker, thicker and looking delicious!

This is a nice and simple recipe that packs some complex flavors. It also makes it seem like you worked really hard on it, when you just dumped some ingredients in a pot and stirred a bit. It’s also good for novices, because you can make it a up to a week ahead of time. Sweet!

Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “Chipotle Lime Cranberries”

  1. Rice Says:

    Wow, this looks absolutely AMAZING. I might have to make some post-Thanksgiving chipotle cranberries, as I am terrified of heading to the grocery store at any point today.

  2. Kerstin Says:

    What a flavorful cranberry sauce! My hubby would love the chipotle twist!

  3. Steven from Minnesota Says:

    I enjoy reading Bon Appetit, and I like the recipes. The trouble is, I mark several in each issue to try, and usually, the next issue arrives before I’ve tried them all. So here’s what I do. Every year for Hanukkah, one of my gifts to my wife is a week’s worth of recipes from the previous year Bon Appetit. I go thru the stack of magazines, list the recipes that I think she’d like and that I want to try, and then let her pick which ones to prepare. Then I find a week early in the year when I can make dinner 7 nights in a row. She loves it, and it’s fun for me, too.

  4. Recipe Master List « matzo&rice Says:

    […] chipotle lime cranberries […]

Leave a Reply

