Peanut Butter Cup Cookies

by

While I was in Rome, one of my coworkers helped me not fall insanely behind stay on schedule on my workload by helping me out with my projects. When I returned, I found out that she had fought through a stomach flu, laryngitis, and survived an Atlantic riptide, all while helping me out while I traipsed around Italy. I told her I would make her a tasty treat, and asked what kind of baked good she liked.

“Anything with peanut butter,” she said, and so I launched forth looking for some delicious goody to give thanks (apparently that’s how I operate now–when I kept my work wagon late one night, rushing around to finish some projects while they stood by and waited, I made it up to them the next day by making them custom-made homemade pizzas–I ask for forgiveness through food).

Was I able to exercise restraint and allow these cookies to cool before I started shoving them down my gullet? At this stage, yes. Later? Not so much.

Was I able to exercise restraint and allow these cookies to cool before I started shoving them down my gullet? At this stage, yes. Later? Not so much.

I went to my go-to website, Allrecipes.com and did the ingredient search for peanut butter. What the ratings revealed to me was a five-star recipe for some ‘effing amazing cookies. I’m not even one of those people who love peanut butter, but I ‘effing loved these cookies and would have eaten them all if my brain hadn’t stepped in and reminded me that my original intention was to bring them into work to share.

Did I mention that these are ‘effing good. More than ‘effing good–full explitive good, but I won’t say it here. I have a reputation to uphold.

I’ve listed the recipe with ingredients exactly as they showed up in the orignal recipe, with only alterations on the prep. Bake them for exactly the time the recipe says and your cookies will come out moist and delicious and your taste buds will revel in the joy that knows intimately the combination of salty and sweet. You will be a hit with friends and relatives. Bake salers will clamor for you to share your secrets. You will gain 10 lbs and not care so long as you are working on a new batch at that moment.

My tiny kitchen has long lost the part of its identity that defined itself as tidy as a pin. Spacious? Twas never so.

My tiny kitchen has long lost the part of its identity that defined itself as "tidy as a pin." Spacious? 'Twas never so.

One thing–unwrapping the peanut butter cups? A real pain, especially when they’ve half melted before you had a chance to shove them in the fridge, and when your apartment isn’t air conditioned and you’re sitting at your computer and watching YouTube while you unwrap them while your cats sit there watching you unwrap them, chocolate smearing all over your hands. But it’s totally worth it. Like, for serious.

Even without a peanut butter cup shoved into the center, these babies are still damn good.

Even without a peanut butter cup shoved into the center, these babies are still damn good.

Ingredients

* 1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
* 1/2 teaspoon salt
* 1 teaspoon baking soda
* 1/2 cup butter, softened
* 1/2 cup white sugar
* 1/2 cup peanut butter
* 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
* 1 egg, beaten
* 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
* 2 tablespoons milk
* 40 miniature chocolate covered peanut butter cups, unwrapped and frozen

DIRECTIONS

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C).
2. Sift together the flour, salt and baking soda; set aside.
3. Cream together the butter, sugar, peanut butter and brown sugar until fluffy. Beat in the egg, vanilla and milk. Add the flour mixture; mix well.
4. Shape into 40 balls and place onto a cooking sheet.
5. Bake at 375 degrees for about 8 minutes. Remove from oven and immediately press a mini peanut butter cup into each ball. Cool and carefully remove from pan.

Let the nom-nom-noming begin.

Let the nom-nom-noming begin.

Tags: ,

One Response to “Peanut Butter Cup Cookies”

  1. Recipe Master List « matzo&rice Says:

    […] peanut butter cup cookies […]

Leave a Reply

