Quick Coffee Cake

by

Yesterday I had a craving for something sweet. But I had no candy and I had no cake. But what I had, though were  raw ingredients, and so what did it matter if it was 11pm on a Monday night and I had to get up to work the next day? I was gonna make myself some coffee cake!

Dear coffee cake, I love you. Signed, me.

Dear coffee cake, I love you. Signed, me.


I get a good chunk of my recipes via the Internet these days, and so imagine my chagrin when my wireless connection went all wonky and nothing would connect! However, I believe in the power of books (I have two degrees in English, and I work in publishing, so I would hope that I would believe that nothing will ever replace books, not even blogs!) and earlier this week I had made a foray to the public library and, though I failed in finding Julia Child’s Mastering the Art of French Cooking, I did come away with the mammoth The Joy of Cooking, which did such a nice job of showing me a really easy recipe for coffee cake that would bake and prep in short enough of a time to allow me at least 6 comfortable hours of sleep.

This recipe is from The Joy of Cooking, with very slight adaptations (mostly in the streusel):

Quick Coffee Cake with Fruit and Streusel

Ingredients

  • 1.5 cups sifted all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon of salt
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/4 cup of butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 2/3 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup sour cream
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Streusel and Fruit Topping

  • 1 cup fresh or frozen berries
  • 1/4 cup of butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.
  2. Sift the flour, baking powder, and salt together.
  3. Beat butter in a bowl until creamy. Then combine it with 1/2 cup of sugar until the mixture is fluffy.
  4. Beat into the wet mixture the egg, milk, and sour cream.
  5. Beat in the dry ingredients, and add the vanilla. Stir until smooth.
  6. In a greased and floured square pan, pour in the batter.
  7. For the streusel, mash the softened butter and combine with the brown sugar until fluffy. Add in the flour and cinnamon and mix well until it is crumbly. Add or subtract flour depending on how crumbly you like your streusel.
  8. Top the cake with the berries, then layer the streusel on top of that. Pop that cake into the oven and bake for 30 minutes, or until it comes out clean when you test with a toothpick or knife.
Fresh out of the oven

Fresh out of the oven

By the time it was done though, I’d kind of lost my sweet tooth and was ready for bed. So all those cravings…well, they were not for naught, because it only meant that I had my breakfast all set to go for the next morning!

As one of my dear friends likes to say, it is "yum-o in the tum-o."

Tags: , ,

One Response to “Quick Coffee Cake”

  1. Recipe Master List « matzo&rice Says:

    […] quick coffee cake […]

Leave a Reply

