Frou Frou Chocolate

by

Bacon and chocolate are ALWAYS relevant. Together they demand attention.

I finally got to taste this salty/sweet bar. Vosges says, “Breathe…engage your five senses, close your eyes and inhale deeply. Be in the present moment, notice the color of the chocolate, the glossy shine. Rub your thumb over the chocolate bar to release the aromas of smoked applewood bacon flirting with deep milk chocolate. Snap off just a tiny piece and place it in your mouth, let the lust of salt and sweet coat your tongue. Mo’s Bacon Bar: applewood smoked bacon + Alder wood smoked salt + deep milk chocolate, 41% cacao.”

I closed my eyes. I rubbed my lips on the glossy chocolate. I tasted it. I looked silly. It was OK. Don’t get me wrong, I love me some $8 chocolate. I’m just not that big of a fan of MILK chocolate. I tasted smoke. I did not taste bacon. I was a bit disappointed.

Then I tried the Black Pearl Bar. Behold:

“Inhale warming ginger as menthol-nuanced wasabi cools. Sense the evolution of flavors in the mouth. Commence with ginger, followed by earthy cacao notes, mellow wasabi reminiscent of coriander, finishing with black sesame seeds, rich in nutty texture. Black Pearl: ginger + wasabi + black sesame seeds + dark chocolate, 55% cacao.”

I loved it, but the description wasn’t exactly correct. If you love ginger, as I love ginger, this will be the best bar you have ever tasted! The black sesame seeds did provide nice texture and subtle flavor. I’m a big fan of dark chocolate. Win, Win, Win! “Menthol-nuanced wasabi”? A sham! I tasted no wasabi. I was really hoping for some sort of spicy finish or that feeling you get in your nose when you eat just a little bit. I still loved it, though. Maybe just call it a ginger black sesame bar? Isn’t that fancy enough?

I picked up the Barcelona Bar for my partner. He likes salt and milk chocolate. It was tasty. It’s not the best bar of chocolate I’ve ever had, but I didn’t feel silly for paying $8 for it.

“See…smell…snap…taste…feel…guided tasting notes inside. Deep milk chocolate melts into the mineral and sumptuous taste of sea salt and roasted almonds, reminiscent of Marcona, Spain. Consume within 6 months.” We consumed it a lot faster than 6 months. I could taste distinct sea salt and roasted almonds. Maybe it was the “deep” milk chocolate? Whatever that is. This got kudos for actually tasting like it should. That said, I liked Lake Champlain’s Organic Milk, Sea Salt, and Almonds Chocolate Bar better. It was satisfying and had a good crunch. Maybe I just like straight forward descriptions?

(On a side note, their Lake Champlain’s Organic Dark Spicy Aztec Chocolate Bar is out of this world! I don’t know if I could really eat it all at once, though…. It’s actually spicy! There are even pepitas in it, adding a little color and crunch. It has great flavor and a fantastic balance of spice and chocolate. 4 stars.)

I applaud Vosges for using all natural ingredients. I can pronounce everything on the wrapper. That’s nice, but what independent candy maker doesn’t now? Further, who comes up with these descriptions?! I feel they’re just one word away from being Engrish. I have to hand it to them. I just paid $8 for a bar of frou frou chocolate.

Tags:

6 Responses to “Frou Frou Chocolate”

  1. physical oops Says:

    I just had the red fire bar yesterday w/ “Mexican ancho y chipotle chilies, ceylon cinnamon and dark chocolate 55% cacao” and it was pretty delicious. A little kick, lots of cinnamon. I think I will have another piece right now.

  2. Michelle Says:

    They had dark chocolate covered bacon at the MN State Fair this summer. I heard it was pretty tasty…

  3. Matzo Says:

    I think I would have liked the bacon bar better if it had dark chocolate.

  4. Rice Says:

    Have you ever tried Dagoba chocolates (not like the Star Wars planet…)? It’s organic chocolate and while there’s no bacon flavor, they have chai ginger, rosemary lime, chili pepper, and my favorite, lavender and blueberry, amongst many other flavors. It’s most excellent, though perhaps not as adventurous!

  5. Matzo Says:

    I’ve seen that kind of chocolate. Make me giggle, it does.

  6. Caroline Says:

    I love the Vosges chocolate. They have one with pink Himalayan salt that’s to die for. Chocolate, pink, and salt? Can’t go wrong.

Leave a Reply

