One of these things is not like the other: Matzo’s Kitchen

by

My kitchen is to Rice’s kitchen as mountains are to molehills.  Please see photo evidence A, B, and C.

Ignore the piles of recycling... nothing to see here, move along.

Exhibit A, B: Views from the entryway (A) and the back door (B). Ignore the piles of recycling... nothing to see here, move along.

As you can see Exhibit A and B, I have a ginormous kitchen. Kitchens are a deal breaker for me. A house could have been made by Moses himself, but if it doesn’t have a decent kitchen… sorry, I’ll keep looking.

I didn’t grow up in the craziness of Rice’s multiple cooling-unit kitchen. We had a regular fridge and a nice huge chest freezer in the basement. I do miss that. My apartment in college had one. It was fantastic! We kept everything in there. Including shoes (long story, but after a very drunken Halloween party, a roommate decided her feet were hot and froze her shoes. We found them a month later). Anyway, while it’s not quite as cool, we do have a beer fridge (Exhibit C).

sdfsd

Exhibit C: Cookbook nook and beer fridge. Check out the neat old-school milkshake maker (bottom right corner) from Craigslist. It makes excellent smoothies!

The mini fridge got me through a year in the dorms at the East Baltimore location of Hopkins. While my education was spectacular, my eating wasn’t. There are no grocery stores in bad neighborhoods. None! We did have a little food market, but it had strange hours. Anyway, when I moved back in with my partner and into a better neighborhood, he suggested getting rid of it. Foolish. I fully support segregating sodas and beer from the rest of the fridge. 1. It’s more convenient, 2. Beverages should not get in the way of food. Now we’re both happy. I get the whole big fridge, and his beer stays cold and closer to the living room. Win-win.

Anyway, please check out my cozy Cookbook Nook (yeah, I’m nerdy). We bought a bookshelf that was too big for the living room, so I got it for my cookbooks!!! The pic is kinda small, but the lamp is made out of a crock pot!  We bought that while drunk at the Andersonville neighborhood’s Summerfest in Chicago.

So, in short, I have copious amounts of space for things like onions (unlike Rice’s kitchen). Unfortunately, I also have copious amounts of mold. It’s rather gross. Bleach is my friend.

Tags:

4 Responses to “One of these things is not like the other: Matzo’s Kitchen”

  1. Marie Says:

    Hey now… It was only two days until I found the shoes! They were right next the chicken with added sparkly ice crystals!

    And this was the very first post that I wanted to comment on enough to overcome my fear of getting yelled at in comments by mean people that I don’t know!

  2. Matzo Says:

    If anyone yells at you I will beat them personally with a ladle and feed them to my Kitchenaid mixer, Cassius.

  3. Michelle Says:

    Aww, the pics of the kitchen make me miss you guys! I like the cook book nook!

  4. Recipe Master List « matzo&rice Says:

    […] matzo’s kitchen […]

Leave a Reply

