Blindfolded Eggs over Cheesy Garlic Grits

by

I’m not going to talk about Wisconsin’s loss to Cornell in the NCAA Men’s Tournament today, only because it fills me with a canyon of despair that makes the Mariana Trench look like a pothole and makes teenagers in the midst of a hormone spurt during Prom (or, the cast of Jersey Shore), seem like calm, rational human beings. So here is the situation, friends.

Change up your Sunday brunch with this tasty and filling dish.

Instead, I will write about breakfast, because breakfast is the greatest of the meals, which includes tea, snack time, and Taco Bell’s so-called “fourth meal.”

I eat eggs like a mad(w0)man, and I generally don’t tire of it, but sometimes I want to mix it up when scrambled eggs or fried eggs or omelets don’t inspire me.  I could eat a croissant or cereal, yes, or maybe a bowl of fresh fruit, but when it’s Sunday…I want eggs! And this morning I found inspiration. Leafing through my latest issue of Cooking Light I saw a recipe for “Blindfolded Eggs over Cheese Grits,” and I knew that was what I was going to eat for breakfast…at 1pm.

What are blindfolded eggs, though? I didn’t know myself, but according to the article, they are eggs that are half-fried and half-poached.

So this recipe is inspired by, but not the Cooking Light recipe, because friends, it has a good deal of cheese and a slice of bacon per serving. As it should be (so long as you eat everything in moderation, of course).

Blindfolded Eggs over Cheesy Garlic Grits

Ingredients

Grits:

  • 2 1/4 cups water
  • 1/2 cup old fashioned grits
  • 1/2 teaspoon of salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

Eggs:

  • 4 Eggs
  • 1/2 teaspoon oil (or use cooking spray)
  • 2 large ice cubes
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Extras:

  • 4 slices of bacon
  • Chives
  • Diced red onion

Directions

  1. Bring water to a boil and add the grits. Slowly stir and reduce heat to medium-low. Cook for 12-14 minutes, stirring occasionally until thickened.
  2. Add cheese, garlic powder, salt, and pepper and stir well until cheese completely melts. Set aside.
  3. Heat a medium-sized skillet over medium heat and break the eggs into the pan. Let the eggs cook for about a minute, or until the whites set. Drop in the ice cubes and cover, cooking for another 2 minutes until the eggs are done to your liking.
  4. Plate grits into 4 plates. Top with eggs. Garnish with crumbled bacon, onions, chives, etc., as so desired.

Now that I’ve posted the recipe, here’s my honest disclosure: I probably used closer to 2/3 of a cup of cheese, but that’s because I like it cheesy, and you can always add more, but it’s a lot harder to subtract. Also, I cooked up some bacon and fried the eggs in the bacon grease. If you want to be less gluttonous, I would recommend using a smidge of oil or using cooking spray. And while I love my food I’m not always classy about it. When I finished taking this picture of the dish I went directly to the fridge and squeezed a swirl of ketchup all over the top of the eggs. Mmm!

Tags: , , ,

5 Responses to “Blindfolded Eggs over Cheesy Garlic Grits”

  1. marlene Says:

    my mother in law makes the best Sephardic Haroset ever-
    check out Passover breakfast quinoa at thejewishhostess.com. I love your recipes!

  2. Johnny Says:

    I couldn’t remember where I learned of Blindfolded eggs. Search & find. Thank you. These are good and ketchup, sure.

  3. Recipe Master List « matzo&rice Says:

    […] blindfolded eggs over cheddar grits […]

  4. Roxanne Rieske Says:

    I just made this dish w/ coarse ground yellow polenta instead of American grits. Absolutely delicious! I also added more cheese than the Cooking Light recipe. :-D

  5. limewire Says:

    shoot fun info dude.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

