Blondies

by

Some people love brownies, but I love blondies.

A feast for the eyes and tastebuds.

A feast for the eyes and tastebuds.

And the love grows infinite when you discover that they’re also insanely easy to make. Hit by a craving while I’m–I don’t know, carving a chicken, washing dishes, wrassling my cats–I can whip up a batch in two shakes of a rack of lamb’s tail and about 30 minutes later there’s a warm batch of gooey goodness on my counter, which I always intend to share but never really get to because theyr’e so good they’re seemingly gone before the pan even cools.

I’ve made these mostly with M&Ms because (a) they’re on hand and (b) colors, whee! But my last batch I made with mini chocolate chips and butterscotch chips, and oh, it is a fine thing that will gladden your soul.

Blondies

Adapted from Smitten Kitchen, who adapted it from How to Cook Everything:

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup chocolate chips/m&ms/butterscotch chips/whatever you think will go with the blondies

Directions

  1. Oil and flour an 8×8 pan
  2. Mix melted butter with brown sugar and beat until smooth. Beat in egg and vanilla.
  3. Add salt and flour stir in flour. Mix in the 1/2 cup of the mixings, be they chocolate chips or nuts or whatever
  4. Pour into prepared pan. Bake at 350°F 20-25 minutes, or until set in the middle. Don’t overbake them–the blondies will continue to cook a little more when you remove them from the oven, and even if they don’t cook through so entirely, who’s gonna complain about a gooey one?  Not I.
Tags: , ,

14 Responses to “Blondies”

  1. Ariel Holland Says:

    These look MAD good! I can’t wait until my oven is fixed, so I can try these out.

  2. heavypettingzoo Says:

    I love you for posting this! I am tempted to make them right now!!

  3. YAY Says:

    Thank you so much for posting these! My dad loves blondies, but I can never find a simple or familiar looking recipe. These look perfect, they look just like what my mom made when I was little. I gotta make ‘em soon.

    • Rice Says:

      I hope your dad likes them (and you, too)!

      Sometimes I think simple is the best, though it often means you always have the ingredients in your kitchen, which then leads to making a lot of baked goods all the time and eating them like you’re getting ready for winter hibernation! But maybe that’s just me. Ha!

  4. woods4 Says:

    oh no, these look dangerous. verrrry dangerous

  5. Danielle Says:

    I prefer blondies over brownies any day! I’m hoping to try these this weekend.

  6. Liesl Says:

    I love blondies. There is just something about a warm blondie fresh out of the oven that gets me everytime! Oh how I long for one now!

  7. Ann Says:

    Wow these look really good. I want to make them, but is it 3/4 cup mix in’s? or 1/2? I like the proportions in your picture, so I’d use that measurement!

    • Rice Says:

      I mix in 1/2 cup of the chocolate chips or M&Ms into the actual batter and use the remaining 1/4 of a cup to top, give or take. Though honestly, I usually just pour a bunch of candy into my hand and mix in however much I feel like that day, but these are generally good proportions that won’t under or overwhelm the recipe. You could add up to a full cup of additional mixings, though and be fine, I think.

  8. Peggy Says:

    these look great! definitely could mix in anything and still be delicious!

  9. Ana Says:

    Turned out way too buttery. It was like having a mouthful of butter. Not that that’s a bad thing! But just not for me,

  10. Eileen Says:

    I was searching for a good blondie recipe and saw the picture of yours and they looked perfect! So, I tried them out. I made them with chocolate chips, butterscoth chips, and M&M’s and they were amazing! They had the perfect gooeyness! Not too gooey but not dry at all and they were the perfect thickness! They weren’t too thick or too thin! I will be making these again for sure and I might add some coconut too! Thanks for the recipe!

  11. Recipe Master List « matzo&rice Says:

    […] blondies […]

  12. Super Bowl Sunday Menu « matzo&rice Says:

    […] Blondies […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

