Black bean and chicken tacos with cabbage slaw

by

When I made this I wasn’t really sure I was going to like it. I’m not particularly excited by black beans or cabbage. I figure at best, I’d have a relatively healthy and budget-friendly meal for me and the boy, and that in itself would be a win. That’s all I was going for.

Whole wheat tortillas grilled and folded in half make humougous and delicious taco wrappers.

Whole wheat tortillas grilled and folded in half make enormous and delicious taco wrappers.

But man oh my. I really enjoyed this. Really, really. The cabbage slaw in particular. I could have gobbled it up by itself, but in the taco it served as a great counterpoint to the warm beans and chicken resting inside waiting to be consumed.

Cabbage, scallions, and red onions just before they are tossed with red wine vinegar and mayonaise and transformed into a fresh, crisp slaw with a bit of a bite.

Cabbage, scallions, and red onions just before they are tossed with red wine vinegar and mayonaise and transformed into a fresh, crisp slaw with a bit of a bite.

The recipe itself is pretty simple, though assembly always takes me longer than I’d like, but this recipe makes a good 6-8 tacos, depending on how much you stuff in each tortilla (and how big each one is–mine were burrito-sized so there were fewer tacos, but more of each individual taco). The night before I chopped up all the slaw ingredients and stuffed them in the fridge for further assembly the next day. I would have added the dressing the night before but it was getting late. However, thinking back on it now, maybe waiting was a lucky decision as the lack of marinating time didn’t cause the dressing to (a) settle and get graining or (b) overwhelm the fresh taste of the veggies.

These were a dinner winner, and my only regret would be how I transported them from my apartment to my boyfriend’s workplace (where we dine together every night, as he works a later shift). I wrapped these up in aluminum foil and threw them in a bag with everything else. When it came time to unpack, I unpacked tacos, tupperware containers…and everything else covered in slaw dressing. Ew. I didn’t enjoy cleaning that up. But, I did enjoy eating this, which I hope to add to the rotation in the near future.

Black Bean & Chicken Tacos with Cabbage Slaw

  • 1 15-ounce can black beans, drained
  • 1 cup shredded chicken
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 2 teaspoons olive oil, divide
  • 6-8 whole wheat flour tortillas
  • 1/2 cup shredded mozzarella cheese
  • 1/2 cup diced fresh tomatoes
  • cabbage slaw (see below)Hot sauce, cilantro, and avocado optional

Directions

  1. Drain and rinse black beans. Mash most, though not all of the beans. Season with cumin and salt and pepper to taste. Set aside.
  2. Heat up a frying pan that’s large enough to fit one of the tortillas fully flat. Coat with olive oil and keep it at medium heat. Place in tortillas one at a time.
  3. In the tortilla, spoon in 1/6 or 1/8th of the bean mixture, depending on how many tacos on the number of tacos you want to make. Do the equivalent with the chicken. As it heats up, fold the tortilla in half when it starts to get a little bit crispy. Remove from heat and fill with tomatoes, cheese, and slaw.
  4. Continue with remainder of ingredients. Chow down and enjoy.

Cabbage Slaw

  • 1/4 cup red wine vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons mayonnaise
  • 3 tablespoons white sugar
  • salt and pepper to to taste
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 2 cups chopped green cabbage
  • 1/4 cup chopped scallions
  • 1 small red onion, halved and thinly sliced

Directions

  1. Combine cabbage, red onions, and scallions in a bowl.
  2. Mix together mayo, sugar, red vinegar, olive oil, salt, and pepper. Beat it until it’s emulsified.
  3. Pour into bowl of vegetables and mix until well combined.

I served this up with a thick, hearty bowl of slow cooker chicken tortilla soup. The chicken I used in this case was some of the chicken I had stewing in the pot all day long, so it was not only seasoned with the flavor of the soup, it was also so tender and fall-apart that I easily fished it out of the soup, shredded it, and added it to the tacos.

One day I’ll post the tortilla soup recipe, but I have to go back and reconstruct it, as I sort of did a mish-mash of things and ended up with something quite satisfying. In the meanwhile, here’s a picture:

Chicken tortilla soup made in the slow cooker.

Chicken tortilla soup made in the slow cooker.

All in all, quite the satisfying meal, and healthy for you too, if you can control your portions!

Tags: , , , , , ,

7 Responses to “Black bean and chicken tacos with cabbage slaw”

  1. missy Says:

    That tortilla soup looks delicious!

  2. oneshotbeyond Says:

    the taco looks full of flavor…and I understand what you mean about the soup. On my Tasty Tuesday food posts I don’t often post the actual recipe since it’s so hard to do!

  3. Recipe Master List « matzo&rice Says:

    […] cabbage slaw […]

  4. Anna Says:

    This looks so good! Do you have the recipe for the chicken tortilla soup, too?

  5. Charlotte Says:

    LOVE the cabbage slaw tacos. My husband found this recipe about a year ago and he’s been making it since! VERY delish!

  6. Ruby Says:

    Wow, we loved this slaw! Had to comment because it’s such a delicious recipe. I think tomorrow I’ll have the slaw with cold chicken mixed in…yum!

    • Ruby Says:

      I came back to report that the leftovers were super, also. I had a cabbage head fresh from the garden so it didn’t get soggy as I feared. The second day I had cold chicken mixed in, along with some diced Anaheim chilies. The third day I had the same, but I added curry powder & ground coriander…it was delicious! I also used quite a bit more cabbage than the recipe called for because there was plenty of dressing. Thanks again for the fabulous recipe.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

