Tomato Lentil Curry Stew

by
Tomato Lentil Curry Stew

Tomato Lentil Curry Stew

In tough economic times, frugality often stretches into the kitchen. After a little shock and awe I experienced upon seeing what I had spent on groceries last month, I thought, hey, Rice, let’s reign in that credit card use! And let’s exercise some self-control! And so, my first thought was that it was time to really commit to making more vegetarian meals.

A bag of dried lentils inspired me to hunt for something legumey. A quick search of my favorite recipe site, Allrecipes.com, led to this recipe for Tomato-Lentil Curry Stew. A few adjustments here and there, due to what was available in my kitchen, and how hearty I wanted the stew, led me to make the following adjustments, and what resulted was a flavorful, thick, and healthy stew (only about 200 calories per serving) that went great with some homemade garlic-rosemary foccacia, which I will post about soon, I hope.

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 cups dry lentils
  • 3 cups water (you can use chicken or vegetable stock for more flavor, but water works just as well)
  • 15 ounces stewed tomatoes
  • 1/2 cup chopped yellow onion
  • 1/2 cup chopped green pepper
  • 1 cup potato chopped into 1 inch cubes
  • 1 teaspoon curry powder
  • 9 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/8 tsp cayenne pepper
  • salt to taste
  • ground black pepper to taste

DIRECTIONS

  1. Combine lentils and water (or stock), bring to a boil.
  2. Lower heat to simmer, add tomatoes, onion, pepper, garlic, and potatoes. Cover and let simmer 45 minutes. Stir occasionally. Add water (or stock) if necessary. Add curry, cayenne, salt and pepper in the last 15 minutes.
Tags: , , , ,

5 Responses to “Tomato Lentil Curry Stew”

  1. Ariel Says:

    What kind of lentils? red, green…?

  2. Rice Says:

    Ariel, I used green lentils for this recipe.

  3. Indigo Says:

    Perfect, I have everything in for this! Looks like dinner!

  4. Rosemary Garlic Focaccia « matzo&rice Says:

    […] Garlic Focaccia Last week I made a tomato lentil curry stew for dinner. While in retrospect it was more than hearty enough to fill one up for a good long […]

  5. Recipe Master List « matzo&rice Says:

    […] tomato lentil curry stew […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

