Malaysian Honey Turmeric Wings

by
Malaysian Honey Tumeric Wings

Malaysian Honey Turmeric Wings

I used to spend a lot of time prepping for dinner, but that was back when I was eating dinner with the boyfriend at 10pm each night. We’ve changed things up now, though, which means we eat more around 7pm, but since I don’t get home from work until around 6pm or later, this is problematic when I want to cook something that requires a lot of prep work.

This led to some trolling around on Tastespotting for recipes I could prep the night before, which resulted in this one such recipe for Malaysian Honey Turmeric wings.

Mmm, chicken wings. I love chicken. Is it because I was born in the Year of the Rooster? (Or does that just sound perverse to love chicken for that reason? But I digress.) I’m kind of a wuss when it comes to super spicy foods, so I’m not always up for hot, hot, hot buffalo wings, but for sweet and savory ones? Sign me up. Also, that tumbler of turmeric on my spice rack that I bought thinking I’d cook up some fabulous Middle Eastern dishes? Well, that phase came and went without me even cracking the safety seal. But for this recipe, I did.

Props to Rasa Malaysia from whence I borrowed this recipe.

Ingredients:

1 lb chicken wings
2 tablespoon honey
1 tablespoon soy sauce
1/8 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon turmeric powder
1/8 teaspoon chili powder
2 inches ginger (skin peeled)

Prepare the ginger by pounding with a mortar and pestle or grinding with small food processor. Extract the juice by squeezing with your hand and discard the ginger.

Marinate the chicken wings with the ginger juice and all the seasonings above for 1-2hours. Grill or bake them in oven (at 375 degree F) for 20-25 minutes until cooked or golden brown.

Note: I didn’t have any fresh ginger on me, and even if I did, I don’t know if I’d pound it with a mortar and pestle and grind it up in a food processor, so instead I just dumped in about a 1/2 teaspoon of ground ginger and called it a day. Also, I live in an apartment in the city. I don’t have a grill. If I did, I’d have to put it out on the rooftop, and I don’t think my downstairs neighbors would appreciate me starting a fire there, so instead, I cheated and used the George Foreman grill for the grill marks.

Tags:

2 Responses to “Malaysian Honey Turmeric Wings”

  1. Michel Beerer Says:

    I added your blog to bookmarks. And i’ll read your articles often!

  2. Recipe Master List « matzo&rice Says:

    [...] malaysian honey turmeric wings [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

