Tomato, tomato

by
The kind of good that makes your head go whoo, whoo!

The kind of good that makes your head go "whoo, whoo!"

The end of summer brings with it a bumper crop of fine, red, ripe tomatoes. My neighborhood grocery store recently had a sale on locally grown tomatoes ($1.00/lb.) and being my mother’s daughter, I had to stock up. What a deal, and a tasty one at that!

Locally grown and bursting with flavor

Locally grown and bursting with flavor

These suckers were the reddest tomatoes I have seen on my 27 years on this green earth. They were fragrant and flavorful to boot. Cutting them open was akin to cracking open a cave of rubies (you know, the ones that exist in the imaginations of 8 year-olds).

This picture does not do it justice

This picture does not do it justice

There were a number of cookery possibilities before me. I knew, though, that I didn’t want to cook them. I wanted the tomatoes to retain their fresh-off-the-vine quality. My first though was SALSA! Matzo makes an excellent, excellent salsa, and so I thought to mimic her with a few adjustments of my own here and here.

Here’s the recipe:

INGREDIENTS

  • 3 tomatoes, chopped
  • 1/2 cup diced yellow onion
  • 1/4 cup corn
  • 3 cloves garlic, diced
  • 2 chopped fresh jalapeƱo peppers
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro
  • 2 teaspoons lime juice
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • Fresh cracked pepper to taste (I use about 1/2 tsp for this sized batch)

DIRECTIONS

  1. Chop up fresh ingredients and combine into a large bowl. Stir together tomatoes, corn, onion, chili peppers, cilantro, salt, pepper, and lime juice. Chill for one hour in the refrigerator before serving.
All the credit for goodness in this recipe goes to the freshness of the ingredients. It’s easy to adjust it to your taste, too. In a later batch I had some diced red pepper because I’d found myself with a handful of leftovers from another dish. Ditto for some red onion. It was all delicious.
With these same tomatoes, I also made some cold, summery gazpacho. However, that recipe will be posted at a later date.

Tags: , , ,

6 Responses to “Tomato, tomato”

  1. Matzo Says:

    In my salsa batch that Rice tried, I used some leftover grilled corn. It was way tasty.

  2. Marie Says:

    I thought of you yesterday when there was a MOUNTAIN of tomatillos on the table in my breakroom at work. I snatched them up and steak and salsa are on the menu for tonight! Have you ever canned the tomatillo salsa?

  3. Matzo Says:

    Good call, Marie. I’ll have to post my Tomatillo Salsa Recipe. Tomatillo salsa is pretty good in the bottle. I don’t think they use enough garlic, though. I usually add a bit to give it more pep.

  4. Marie Says:

    I just realized that you don’t preserve any of your salsa… you are a pico kind of girl. Maybe I’ll give it a whirl if the boys are up for helping out tonight. I’ll let you know if it turns out.

  5. Burrito Party! « matzo&rice Says:

    […] make your salsas, rice, beans, and condiments of choice. I love salsa. You can check out Rice’s salsa recipe. It’s pretty good. I used Roma tomatoes in the following recipes for 2 reasons. 1) They […]

  6. Recipe Master List « matzo&rice Says:

    […] tomato corn salsa […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

