Berry Pie

by

Rice came over and had some of my Blueberry Raspberry Pie with Graham Cracker Crumb Crust. She has been badgering me for the recipe ever since. It’s seriously easy, unlike every other pie recipe I make.

Yum.

Yum. This is even after it was in the fridge a few days.

Graham Cracker Crumb Crust (Makes 9-inch Pie Shell and topping, but I make more for a more substantial crust and topping)
Joy of Cooking by Irma S. Rombauer and Marion Rombauer Becker

1 1/2 cups graham cracker squares (or gingersnaps, vanilla/chocolate wafers)
1/4 to 1/2 cup sifted powdered sugar (I used 1/4, it doesn’t need much sweetness)
6 T melted butter
1 tsp Cinnamon, optional

If you’re making everything right away, preheat the oven to 425 degrees. Smush or blend crackers to even fine crumbs. Pour crumbs into mixing bowl; add cinnamon, sugar, and butter. Blend well with fingers or a fork. Reserve a few tablespoons for the topping. Pour into a 9-inch pie plate, pressing firmly to sides of pie plate. Cool until ready to fill. When the pie is filled, scatter the reserved crumbs over the top.

I always make a bit more than it calls for so I have a little extra for the top. This crust is so tasty.

The filling is an adaptation of my friend Marie’s frozen mixed berry recipe.  I use less sugar than she does. Her recipe is in the comments to the side of what I did.

I used:

2 pints of blueberries (they were $1 each at the new grocery store, La Grande, near me! Hooray!)
1 bag of frozen raspberries (the blueberries weren’t quite enough, and this was in the freezer)
1/2 cup sugar (Marie’s recipe calls for 1c white, 1/2 cup brown. I like my pies more tart and the berries were very sweet as is)
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp nutmeg
6+ T cornstarch (to help thicken it up, berries are juicy)

Don’t thaw the berries if you’re using frozen. Mix everything together. Fill the crust and sprinkle on the topping. Place in a preheated 425 degree oven for 15 minutes to brown up the top (watch it… this crust can burn quickly). Turn it down to 350 for 30 minutes.  Cool and enjoy. It goes great with vanilla ice cream.

Tags: ,

One Response to “Berry Pie”

  1. Recipe Master List « matzo&rice Says:

    […] berry pie […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

