Banana Crumble Muffins

by

These are some seriously moist, yummy muffins with a fun crunchy top! Rice, her partner, my partner, a coworker and my boss agree. I was going to take more than 2 small ones to work, but I ate them. So there!

I got the recipe from the My Baking Addiction blog post called My Favorite Banana Crumb Muffins. I can see why they’re her favorite. I made a few alterations (my recipe changes are below). If you’re interested in her adapted recipe (adapted from allrecipes) please see her post. I wish I had added nuts, 1/2 – 3/4 cups toasted walnuts would have done nicely.

Banana Crumb Muffins

Muffins
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup wheat flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
3 large bananas, mashed
1/2 cup white sugar
1/4 cup brown sugar
1 egg, lightly beaten
1/3 cup butter, melted
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 tsp cinnamon

Crumb Topping
1/3 cup packed brown sugar
2 T all-purpose flour
slightly less than 1/4 tsp ground cinnamon
1 T butter

Get ready for some muffins!

Get ready for some muffins!

Directions
Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C). Lightly grease or line with muffin papers 10 big muffin cups or a bunch of small ones. I used 7 big ones and 12 small (they were very full, but VERY yummy).

Muffins: In a large bowl, mix the flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt. In a different bowl, beat bananas, sugar, egg, melted butter, and vanilla. The original directions said to stir the wet into the dry, but I did it the other way around and it came out SUPER yummy. Spoon batter into prepared muffin tins.

Crumb topping: In a small bowl, mix together brown sugar, 2 T flour, and cinnamon. Cut or smush in 1 T butter to resemble cornmeal. Sprinkle it on top to look like this:

Big muffins get baked for 18-20 minutes. Small ones for about 10-12. Check it with a tooth pick. They’re done when the toothpick comes out clean. They are crunchy on top when fresh (but cooled) from the oven. Once they’re stored, the moisture is a bit too strong to stay crisp, but the flavor stays top notch.

These may be the most MOIST muffins ever. I think adding a the wheat flour makes them a bit more healthy and breakfast appropriate.

All done and ready to eat!

All done and ready to eat! (as you can see, I already ate 2 small ones!)

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Banana Crumble Muffins”

  1. Rice Says:

    Dude, I am making these as soon as I get some more bananas. These were amaaaaaaaaaazzzzzzzzzzzing!

  2. Recipe Master List « matzo&rice Says:

    [...] banana crumble muffins [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

